What’s On Tonight: Supergirl on CBS

4a47a0db6e60853dedfcfdf08a5ca249Supergirl takes flight tonight on CBS at 8:30 pm after a new The Big Bang Theory to a reviewed rating of an above average B+ on TVLine, and several other glowing reviews around the web. Granted it seems as if many of the reviews out there are glowing based on Melissa Benoist’s performance, not entirely on the show itself. The performance of the cast does go a long way in a show, but it can’t save a bad story or script, so we will have to view it for a couple episodes to judge the show truly.

Will Supergirl live up to all the glowing reviews? I think that it will; at least at first, only time will tell if the story can hold up.

I was one of those people that saw the “leaked” pilot over the summer, and I would have to agree with the “B” rating that I found on TVLine. There are many significant changes to the story and the cast then what you would find in the original stories. For me, the most significant differences are Kara’s age and Jimmy.

*note if you watched the “leaked” pilot you should still watch the premiere, they supposedly updated it.

I say her age because they wanted this to be Kara’s origin story, so they had to change the timeline for her arrival on Earth, as well as the story of that journey altogether. This timeline/story change might bother people, but I found it to be smart, for the story they are trying to tell. They made the age difference between Kara and Superman [Clark Kent/Kal-El] a lot different, with her a small child and Superman already grown and established as a Superhero – unlike the previous version on The WB’s Smallville. She grows up with a family, who knows where she comes from and raises her as their own, much like Clark, but we fast forward through all that. We began her journey after she is grown, working at a … newspaper. She doesn’t start toying with her abilities until that point when she see an unfortunate situation that she can’t resist intervening with – sparking an adrenaline reaction causing her to want more.

Courtesy of CBS
“James” in Supergirl. Courtesy of CBS

I mention Jimmy because he is vastly different from any Jimmy I have ever known, and I miss that character. They made this Jimmy tall, dark and handsome, with a chiseled face, fit/muscular body and dripping with confidence. Is it wrong that I loved the adorkable Jimmy Olsen, who went by Jimmy (this Jimmy likes to go by James).

I understand that they wanted to keep a connection to Superman since he is basically “keeping an eye on her” for her famous Superhero cousin, but I almost wish they either kept his character the lovable one I know and love or brought in someone else completely.

supergirl-cbs-kara-no-aliens
Winslow “Winn” Schott in Supergirl

However, they did give her an almost adorkable friend, Winslow “Winn” Schott, who is totally in love with her. It seems that her complete trust in this character could bite her in the end though. I guess my mind can try to work with that character to fill that void, but I honestly think this Jimmy will continue to bug me.


Overall I enjoyed the pilot more than expected, and I look forward to the story that they are about to unfold. There are many changes, and there are some items of the story I’m not too sure about just yet, but I think it’s a good contender to become a hit.

You can check out 9 Things To Know Before The ‘Supergirl’ Premiere on CBS’s website to get a feel for some characters.

The cast includes Melissa Benoist, Calista Flockhart, Chyler Leigh, Mehcad Brooks, David Harewood, Jeremy Jordan, Laura Benanti, Dean Cain, and Helen Slater.

The synopsis of the pilot reads:

At 24, Kara Zor-El, Superman’s cousin, decides the time has come to embrace her superhuman abilities and fulfill her destiny as a hero in the series premiere of this drama based on the DC Comics character Supergirl.

Starting with Episode 2 Supergirl will air Mondays at 8 pm on CBS.

Leave a Reply

