Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials Review

417-film-page-large
Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials movie poster


Let me just start off by saying that I never read the books, so there will be no comparisons here.

This movie had a touch of everything we love in movies: love, loyalty, passion, fear, betrayal, [many] explosions.

I like that they started this movie directly where it left off in Maze Runner.

Something about the story was a little off, and maybe slightly rushed, due to the time constraints of the 2-hour movie window. Since this is a story based off a book, there is a good chance there was a lot of story they needed to squeeze in. However, in spite of feeling like it was slightly rushed the story, it didn’t gnaw at me enough to dislike the movie.

The ambiance of the flashlight lit scenes were my favorite, each one, the look and feel of those scenes were exciting; you seemed to feel the action sequences a little more than when they are in the daylight.

At first I was thinking that this is another lame attempt at zombies [Cranks], but once we got a good look at them I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked there take on “zombified humans”. I’m not sure how much I like the naming of this outbreak, Flare virus/Cranks, but all in all I like the way they are visually represented. When they showed the fully developed Cranks down in the tunnels I was a little disappointed about the full CGI they used, but having them rooted into the walls was pretty cool.

The part that surprised me most was where one of the members of the group shoots himself in the head. A suicide was not something I would’ve expected in a movie targeted to teens. It didn’t bother me personally. It made sense for the situation, but nonetheless surprising to be included in the story.

There were a couple parts of the story I had a feeling would’ve been understood more had I read the book, but it didn’t bother me. I have a feeling that there was more that could be understood with the refugees, who they are, where they came from, etc.., but I could be wrong.

The most devastating part was at the end. The betrayal. I knew it was coming, right from the moment that Teresa [Kaya Scodelaro] started talking about how Thomas [Dylan O’Brien] shouldn’t have taken them out, and that they should go back. In addition, when they showed Teresa looking at the radio, I knew she had taken it and would do something terrible – which she did.

I love the new additions to the group, but I really hope they get Minho [Ki Hong Lee] back in one piece!

Overall, Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials was fantastic. However, I might have a touch of O’Brien bias so if you disagree, that could be why.

Leave a Reply

